CASH 1 Blog - News

CASH 1 knows money. We've been a financial institution for over 20 years. Read our blog to learn ways to manage your debt, loans and personal finances.

What Are the Payday Loan Laws in Rhode Island and Maine?

  • 1 MIN READ|
  • 0 Comment |
  • 725 |
  • by Joseph Priebe|
  • July 18, 2013 |
  • Loan Laws

Read payday loan laws in Maine and Rhode Island

Rhode Island, home to The Breakers and the former place of residence of the famous railroad baron Cornelius Vanderbilt, is also a state where there are strict payday loan laws. The maximum amount of money one can take out in payday loans is $500, with a minimum repayment period of no less than 13 days.

Unlike many other states where taking out more than one outstanding loans is not permissible, in Rhode Island, a borrower can take out as many as three loans worth up to $1,500. On the other side of New England, payday loan services are only limited to authorized lenders in Maine. There, it is legal for lenders to charge $25 worth of service fees for those taking out loans in excess of $250.

For smaller loans up to $75, licensees can only charge approximately 6.7 percent of it as an applied interest rate, and $15 for loans that are between $75.01 and $249. In Maine, payday loan lenders have a greater assortment of ways to advertise their services than those in other states where certain advertising tactics are prohibited.

Showing 0 Comment


Comments are closed.